Science Nook!

21 Oct

I’m currently writing this post from my brand new Nook. For the past few days, I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a tablet or e-reader. I am an avid reader and devoted bibliophile, and my books are among my dearest possessions. The idea of e-readers never really appealed to me before. I love the the entire experience of reading a good book. I love getting lost in the story and the smell of the pages.
I love my various mismatched bookshelves, sagging under the weight of the books.

But as I get older, I find myself reading less and less sci-fi and lit, and more nonfiction, especially science books. Especially textbooks. Ive always been acutely aware of my textbook addiction. College always enabled it, but now that I’ve graduated, I can’t justify buying hundreds of dollars of textbooks. E-reader textbooks are often at a lower price (and sometimes I can even borrow them temporarily through the Nook.)

Im enjoying my nerdy science apps (Drugs and Bugs is a great one) and the new book Regenesis: How Synthetic Biology Will Reinvent Nature And Ourselves. So far, so good. Now that Ive settled into my new job, I may update more frequently. However, I live in the middle of nowhere, 100 miles south of the Arctic Circle, with sporadic internet and a computer that’s on it’s last leg.
But I work with so many amazing bacteria, I can’t help but share.

2 Responses to “Science Nook!”

  1. kenthinksaloud October 23, 2012 at 01:26 #

    Good to see you back! Even if it is all a bit uncertain…

  2. Coral January 2, 2015 at 12:33 #

    You’re all over this, right? http://listenalaska.lib.overdrive.com/

Leave a Reply

