Instagramming My Last Month Before The Move

26 Apr

I’ve always been a huge fan of instagram, and now that I have access to a much higher quality lens than my crappy little iTouch,  I can now capture life in much better detail. I’m a complete photography nut, mostly because I like the concept of documentation. A simple curiosity sparked years ago has led to a full-on obsession, complete with multiple cameras, countless rolls of film, scattered memory cards, and external hard drives stuffed to the brim with RAW files. I will also love my DSLR, but I do like the convenience and stealth of camera phones. They’re small, compact, handy, and getting better and better in quality. They perfectly suits my need to document life around me. Especially lately, as I’ve been documenting my last month in the city I’ve called home. For the past 6 years here, I’ve been so wrapped up in college that I rarely took the opportunity to indulge my social life. The first part of college I was very sick, resulting in constant exhaustion and nearly dropping out altogether, which was followed by depression and anxiety over my health and failing academics. Once I had regained healthy, stability, and my labs, the second part of college was filled with stating my passion for science. I willingly spent late caffeine-fueled nights in libraries and diners, pouring over textbooks, notes, and flashcards. I loved the material so much that it never fully occurred to me how much work I actually put into it until I graduated. I simply enjoyed it to much to notice the workload. Now that I’m transitioning from full-time college student to full-time lab geek, I’ve been working on my “Stuff I’ve Been Meaning To Do, But Never Got Around To Doing Due To College” list. Yeah, I actually have a list. And a camera to document it. Drinking coffee. Well, I always insane amounts of drink coffee, but now I have the means to enjoy high quality pressed coffee at home, instead of crappy diner coffer, burnt lab coffee, and annoyingly shitty espresso shots made by baristas who were hired for their secondary sexual features in lieu of any actual culinary skill. My tongue is much happier.

Learning how to crochet. I’ve been making several scarves as good-bye presents for  my friends. It’s fun and provides some much needed relaxation. Despite what a certain family member claims, moving is actually incredibly stressful, and crocheting is super-awesome productive stress-relief.Watching friends invent nerdy drinking games.

Learn how to cook. It’s still a huge work in progress, and these super-delicious blueberry pancakes shown above were actually morning-after treats made by Kim. But watching her make them has made me realize that pancakes are no longer intimidating, and she showed me a absolutely delicious whole wheat pancake mix. I also figured out pork chops, lentil soup, burritos, and chicken pesto pasta. I even bought some cookbooks! They look so pretty sitting on my bookshelf I simply can’t bring myself to open them. Oops.I even learned out to make hummus!Sooo delicious!

Celebrate Easter without all those annoying religious overtones.

Give a gift of narwhal necklaces to one of my closest friends, Darlene, who completely changed my life 5 years ago, and I will never be able to repay her for everything she’s done. My degree, my job, my self-esteem, several awesome boyfriends, and a wonderful social circle are directly due to her.Spend quality time with my bestie, Kim, depicted here in her fanciest fancies.Attend New Dances! Actually, I’ve attended New Dances every year for the past 3 years. But this year I had 5 friends who choreographed dances, and nearly a dozen who danced in it. It was phenomenal. More cuddle parties! Tea time with Dad. We actually get together for tea or lunch fairly regularly, but more often now that I have the time. I always hated the days when I had to cancel our plans due to projects, studying, or exhaustion from all-nighters. Make more science friends. Here is Tom explaining neutrino imaging to a fellow coffee shop patron. Or maybe to an imaginary friend. Imaginary friends are excellent listeners.Enjoy my last First Friday downtown with Corrie, complete with silly tourist participation nonsense.
More late night diner gatherings! This happened a lot in college, but it’s way more fun when you don’t have to worry exams and papers the following morning. And when the table isn’t cluttered with textbooks and lecture notes, there’s actually room for food! Amazing! And mustache doodles on fingers! Spend more time laughing with friends.
Survive the snowiest winter in the history of Anchorage! We even had April 8th snowstorm. My last winter in Anchorage was the snowiest in history, bringing in over 133 inches.  Of course, this was the one winter I decided “Nah, I can totally survive without snow tires this winter.” Oops.Skiing! For the first time since high school. I still can’t downhill ski to save my life, but cross country skiing adventures are some of my favorite high school memories. Welcome a very sloshy spring breakup! Have a surreal experience involving a wedding, a roller derby, belly dancers, and awkward public prayer!
And, of course, spend more time with people like this:
Leave a Reply

